Lingner Schloss Dresden (8 pics)
A short history
The Lingner Palace was built around 1850/53 for the Prussian noble von Stockhausen family and, as the middle of the three palace buildings on the Loschwitz slope of the Elbe, today bears the name of Dresden’s honorary citizen Karl August Lingner, although he only lived here from 1908 to 1916. In his will, he bequeathed the entire estate to the city of Dresden under strict conditions.
Visitors to the terrace of the Lingnerschloss between Albrechtsberg Palace and Eckberg Palace are offered a panoramic view of unique charm, in favourable weather as far as the heights of the Ore Mountains, from the filigree “Blue Wonder” in the east to the silhouette of Dresden’s old town in the west.
Together, the palace building and the extensive park form a place full of grace and fascination. Rare plants, such as the nodding milk star, grow between the vines below the terrace. At the foot of the hill, the Elbe majestically makes its way. It carries the oldest fleet of paddlewheel steamers in the world and brings crowds of tourists to Pillnitz Palace or the Elbe Sandstone Mountains every day.
To the north, the area borders on the Dresden Heath. The city centre with its world-famous historic buildings is within easy reach.
Built on sand
It is hard to imagine that the three Elbe castles were built on a sand dune on the Dresden Heath, which in places reaches 34 metres into the ground. When construction of Albrechtsberg Castle began, miners from Freiberg therefore had to drive tunnels into the sandy subsoil in order to channel underground water courses into masonry shafts. The weight of Albrechtsberg Castle’s building fabric would otherwise have caused the Elbe slope to slide.
From hunting ground to vineyard
If you delve deeper into the history of Dresden’s Elbe castles, you will learn that the steeply sloping hillsides were once an electoral hunting ground. Around 1620, they were even used militarily for firing in the “Stükken” (guns) that were posted on the opposite bank of the Elbe in the Blasewitz Tännicht. In 1660, Elector Johann Georg II bequeathed the land to deserving office holders in his area. Eight vineyards were established, which later changed hands several times through inheritance and sale. It was not until 1886 that phylloxera brought viticulture on the Elbe slope to a total standstill. Fruit trees replaced the vines for almost 100 years.